CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 61417

South African family man, looking for a forever home with exciting long term career prospects please.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

Not listed

Type of farming wanted

Mixed Farming, Other

Other qualifications

SAMSA Qualified Day Skipper Cat C Power Driven Vessel

ACU Distance Learning Farm Management accreditation (currently undertaking)

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Ploughing, Tracked Machine, Fencing

Livestock experience

Beef, Calving, Poultry

Other equipment experience

Confident on tractors in various roles. I currently work with John Deere 6120 R and 6125 R. Other areas are mowing (triple-deck roller mower), harrowing, fixing fences, topping, rolling, excavating, ploughing, fertiliser, muck and slurry spreading. I have a wide range of workshop, mechanical and horticultural skills, chainsaw, welding, grinding, etc. Basic building and plumbing experience, large-scale vegetable gardening and lawn irrigation installation, and I have a working knowledge of equipment servicing.

Other livestock experience

I am currently employed on a small farming estate, with a 120 or so herd of suckler cows plus followers and finishers (12 - 18 months) and have been in post since January 2020. I am involved in all aspects including feeding, scraping and bedding down, health checks and administering medications, and I have gained 2 seasons experience in calving. Alongside the herd we produce Our own fodder. At all other times I assist in other estate maintenance matters, such as tree planting, road and fence repair, and wood cutting.

I have 1 years experience (2014 - 2015) as a Site Manager on a Rearing/Laying Farm (Poultry) in KwaZulu Natal, South Africa. The birds were on a 12-week programme and my role covered all aspects of staff management, equipment and machinery maintenance, animal welfare, including some veterinary assistance, data entry, hygiene & bio-security.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

35

Marital status

I have a British wife and twins age 7.

Nationality

South African

Where are you currently living?

No Information

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Kid time! Fishing. Trips to the coast. Growing veggies. Making the most of our surroundings is high in our list. And I like a beer and a braai!

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

Slim build, 1.8m tall. Strong and healthy.

Relevant health problems

None

Farming background

I am a South African, married to a British citizen, and we have 7 year old twins. We moved to the UK 3 years ago, whereupon I was employed as the Groundsman at a Polo Club. My responsibilities included all physical aspects of grass management, fertilizing, fencing, some maintenance of the farm buildings and the outdoor arena, equipment servicing, paddock maintenance, topping, and club area aesthetics. I reported directly to the owner as and when required, but otherwise worked on my own initiative.

In South Africa I had a variety of jobs including several seasons deep sea hand-line fishing for snoek off the west coast, and Quota Diving, to working in various capacities in hospitality for several years on a Private Guest Farm. I took a break from hospitality when the twins came along and spent a year as a Section Manager on a Poultry Farm. Finding the farm lacked in progressive thinking, I returned to hospitality as the Farm Manager for a working B&B guest farm, which also ran a field to fork restaurant (veggies, beef and poultry).

At all times Ive been involved in maintenance and/or exposed to some elements of farming. They have always been physical jobs, and long days, and no more so than my time spent in hospitality, where on an average day I might have waitered at breakfast, fixed water pumps and boilers, run errands for the GM, piloted a guided boat tour, then served welcome drinks before serving supper. Im not necessarily what you would expect from a farm hand looking to move up, but I have a wider skill set and knowledge base to draw upon when it comes to problem solving, Im adaptable and quick to learn and move forward.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 30/06/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

-

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×