CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 57829

Scottish Young person looking for livestock work

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

BSc

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

I began a veterinary medicine degree at
Nottingham University but realised I prefer hands on
agriculture with an ultimate passion for pigs. I therefore
left to proceed with an agricultural degree in Edinburgh
but ended up at Aberdeen due to the original degree
programme ending.
Year one: agri animal science Edinburgh passed
Year two: agriculture bsc hons sruc passed
I have a National progression award in Rural Science (livestock and crop production and business)along with the following qualifications gained at school.
Advanced highers chemistry biology and physics. Highers: Biology, Chemistry, Physics, maths and modern studies. National Five: Biology, Chemistry, Physics, maths and modern studies German and English.
I have a first aid certificate too which i got in 2019

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Telehandler/Fork Lift

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Pig, Goat, Sheep, Lambing, Calving, Poultry

Other equipment experience

Whilst manager at the pigs i worked a little with the manitou but indoor pigs didnt require a lot. Other than that I haven't been given the opportunity with any equipment as I have worked more with the livestock husbandry side. I would pick it up very quickly, i'd imagine if i got given the opportunity. I have been looking into doing the lantra courses to get formal qualifications. Have a trailer license. This is the area I lack in.

Other livestock experience

Dairy: I help out on a 200 herd dairy, with a herringbone parlour. Main duties: vaccinating, sorting cattle, feeding calves, weighing and milking.

Lambing 300: i deal with the livestock husbandry and assist difficult lambings. I help worm and vaccinate sheep. I currently have a flock of blue faced Leicester of my own I'm hoping to show this year.

Calving: I helped and observed calving on the beef farm. About 90 calving mix of cows and heifers hereford cross BB and simmental and laterly shorthorn. They have now given up keeping cattle due to retirement. Around 250 stock on the farm. I again do animal husbandry work and daily duties

Pigs: Outdoor 800 sow herd, Indoor, 120 sows. Research farm indoor.

Manager of recently expanded 1600 sow indoor unit. All noted on my CV.I have worked on both types of units and was focused on the farrowing side. I administered drugs, cared for all levels of pigs, daily duties, AI, weighing, selecting gilts and lots more. I have worked with goats in a pet home. I have worked at the local auction mart where i have handled stock.

I also have had over 40 poultry ranging from ducks and chickens.

Personal information
Sex

Female

Other Information

I have placed in a few YF stockjudging competitions. I am very keen on learning how technology and the agri industry is progressing especially in respect to pigs. I am a keen learner and have lots of enthusiasm for livestock. I have placed at the local shows with my ponies and I show my dogs at crafts and I also show rabbits and cavies across the UK

Age

24

Marital status

No

Nationality

British

Where are you currently living?

Moray

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Ride and show my ponies. Show dogs rabbits and cavies across the UK. Attend Young farmers, attend lots of dog events. Look after my pedigree sheep.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

-

Relevant health problems

No, fit and healthy

Farming background

I have regular experience on a beef farm especially at calving time. I'm always at my regular lambing placement in March. I have worked on four pig farms (outdoor, indoor and research) I have helped out on a dairy farm too. Lots of horse experience too Experience is noted in my CV

Preferences
Availability

Start: 29/05/2024 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

Scotland

Type of job

Any

Where would you like to work?

North east Scotland

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×