CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 46372

I am from York, and I am currently a livestock worker working with sheep and cattle from 2013- present
I am an experienced stock person due to working with sheep and cattle
and I have experience of calving and lambing- i did 3 weeks in Northumberland. Work in York.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

City and Guilds

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

L2 and L3 diploma in Agriculture

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Not listed

Livestock experience

Beef, Pig, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

-

Other livestock experience

I have experience of working with sheep, beef cattle and pigs includes yearly work near York in 2013+, mainly feeding and bedding for cattle, vaccinating calves, dehorning calfs, castrating bull calves, ear tagging calves and checking livestock had sufficient water. Sheep work was mainly foot trimming, dagging out to prevent fly strike, spot worming, rounding up with quad bikes and dogs as well as vaccinating against diseases. Pig work mostly consisted of feeding/ bedding up, weaning the piglets off, serving the sow with the boar, teeth/ tail clipping and mucking out. I have also helped out on family/ neighbouring farms doing general farm tasks throughout the year such as moving stock around, grading fat lambs for markets and other yard duties etc.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

I took part in lamb judging and I came 3rd in the intermediates in young farmers

Age

25

Marital status

I dont have a partner and I have parents, 3 sisters and 1 brother

Nationality

British

Where are you currently living?

North Yorkshire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

outside of work I either go to young farmers, cinema, the pub or social events

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

167

Relevant health problems

-

Farming background

I grew up on a small holding south of York, England. I attended school from 2008- 2013 I would help out whenever I could feeding the cows and sheep during the winter, assisting sheep to lamb when required, castrating male lambs, weaning lambs, ear tagging lambs, repairing fences and shearing/ foot trimming until I left school. After I left school I started studying a L2 diploma in Agriculture in September 2013 Askham Bryan college in York after I had gained a L2 diploma. I went on to studying a L3 diploma in agriculture from September 2014- July 2016 which was when I decided I needed to gain skills and experience of working on a proper farm so I started working on my uncles beef, sheep and arable farm nearby at weekend/holidays alongside my studies, as well as working at home before and after college during the week. On my uncles farm I had to feed/ bed up cattle, rounding up sheep and general farm work etc. During my first year of the L3 diploma there were livestock practicals every week, as well as preparing the chosen species of livestock up to a stockmanship standard. Also during the L2 and the first year of the L3 we were taken on various tractor practicals e.g ploughing, sub soiling and operating other machinery etc as well as practising reversing. Towards the end of the final year of the L3 pigs and chickens were brought on to the small holding so I had the opportunity to work with them as well and doing jobs like collecting eggs, feeding/ bedding up pigs, weaning piglets, serving the sow with the boar, teeth/ tail clipping and mucking out. I also got part time work on a neighbouring in the evenings after college, weekends and holidays feeding/ bedding up cattle.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 31/10/2020 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

North East

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

York

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×