CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 45244

Experienced and multi skilled herdsman,tractor driver and stockman.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

NCA

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

I am at present a level 1 foot trimmer having passed the dutch diploma in 2008, I have also had a one to one check day in December 2019.AI trained; also telehandler certificate.first aid trained and atv licence.

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Baler, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Pig, Calving

Other equipment experience

I am proficient in most dairy machinery tasks,feeder wagon, most silage making tasks fertilizer spreading muck and slurry spreading.Have also done a few summer harvests, which included corn carting,spud harvesting, some cultivation work power harrow etc,also done topping and hedgecutting,used to driving john deere, new holland and case puma tractors.

Other livestock experience

I am a skilled herdsman used to working in various size herds either alone or as a team. I am proficient in all major tasks that are required I.e vet med routines, very skilled at feet trimming having done the full Dutch diploma, AI trained and have also experience on different farming systems from high input intensive herds to low input grazing setups.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

53

Marital status

I have a partner and 2 grown up children who dont live at home.

Nationality

english

Where are you currently living?

Dorset

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I enjoy watching and playing cricket,big motorsport fan and do trackdays in my own race car,also into vintage retro shows and go to a lot of steam fairs when free. Keen model maker airfix ones!!

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

5ft 11 tall and 12.5 stone physically fit

Relevant health problems

Had a motorbike accident in 2008 breaking my hip and femur. Both of which cause me no problems.

Farming background

I have worked on farms most of working life,learning new skills and working across a variety of dairy systems. I have also done several summer harvest jobs to add a bit of variety into my work load.

Nov 2018 - July 2020

Herdsman foot trimmer on the 1500 cowherd.

Jan 2018-October 2018 assistant manager on a high yielding 550 cow 3x day milking herd.

2013-2018 worked as a relief herdsman for herds ranging from 120 to 1000 cows on various systems high input, grazing based, etc,have also done a couple of summer harvests including spuds and beet harvesting.

2010-2013 Senior herdsman for an estate,doing all foot trimming and medical related tasks plus AI on a 650 cow unit.

2008- 2010 18 months off due to motorbike accident.

2003-2008 Herdsman. Worked as a herdsman for 2 years then promoted to run another unit owned by the farmer.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 09/10/2020 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Any

Where would you like to work?

South West or Cheshire / North Wales area. My family come from the south but my children reside in the Wrexham area.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×