CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 41959

Experienced dairy farmer looking for a Herd / Farm Manager or share / contract farming in the South West. Worik anywhere.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

NDA, NVQ Level 1,2,3

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

NVQ level 3

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Baler, Ploughing, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Other harvesters, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

Experienced at all grassland and silage machinery tasks. Over the years running my own farm, we owned and self-maintained a range of farming equipment including silage equipment (inc mowers, tedders, self propelled and trailed harvesters), cultivation equipment (inc ploughs, fertilizer spreaders etc) and large machinery such as tractor loaders, slurry tankers and muck spreaders. I have first hand experience in running all of this machinery myself and have years of practice training my staff how to run the machinery safely themselves.

Other livestock experience

Being a dairy farmer in my own right until 2012 I am very experienced will all stock management tasks. During my time as a dairy farmer, I built my heard from 60 to 250 pedigree dairy cows. This involved all aspects of calf rearing, ensuring bulling heifers are grown to target service weight in time, correct feeding of in calf heifers and dry cows to ensure correct body condition score at calving, cow nutrition pre and post calving to ensure maximum production whilst maintaining good health to ensure cows are returned in calf as soon as possible. I also have a lot of experience in ensuring optimum heard health status through using up to date vetinarian advice on vaccinating against latest diseases. I am also very aware of the importance of general heard health and have always committed to regular foot trimming and regular herd health visits.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

I am very passionate about dairy farming, and have been very successful as a dairy farmer and a herdsman during my years of experience.

Age

50

Marital status

Married with 4 children, Ages 25 21 19 17

Nationality

British

Where are you currently living?

Devon

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I enjoy maintaining my garden, watching my children compete in their sporting matches, walking my dogs and spending time with my family and friends.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

Height 5'6 Weight 100kg

Relevant health problems

None

Farming background

Born and raised on a mixed dairy farm, of which I worked on since leaving school. Herd manager of 500 cows in 2012-2015. At the beginning of my career as a dairy farmer, I had 60 cows over 100 acres. Over the years, we increased our herd to 250 pedigree dairy cows with young stock. We also reared beef stock and built the farm up to 350 acres, in which we grew 60 acres of cereals and 30 acres of maize annually as feed for the livestock. After making the decision to sell the family farm, I started my career as a herdsman on a farm of 500 cows. I have continued to maintain high levels of stockmanship and have been responsible for other members of staff and their training. I have years of experience working on my own and in a team.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 30/11/2020 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

-

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Anywhere

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×