CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 41344

Keen, enthusiastic with a strong work ethic looking a shepherd job in the Scotland or Northumberland. With own working dog with a life times experience. With show ring experience

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

Not listed

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

Earlston high school 2010 2014 English 4-5 Maths 4-5 Woodwork 5-5 Biology 4-5 Geography 4-5 Modern studies 4-5 PE 4-5 Borders college 2014-2016 National certificate agriculture SCQF level 6 - 6 SVQ 2 agriculture level 5 - 5

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift

Livestock experience

Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

Silage making pit work and just general tractor work e.g. mucking out cattle/sheep sheds, bale handing loading and stacking. I have also topped, rolled, hay turning with a hay bob. Atv and John Deere gator. John Deere tractors. Full UK driving licence

Other livestock experience

From an early age working with my father on the farm where he is head stock man. The farm has 680 sheep a mix of 180 black faced ewes and 500 cross ewes also have our own small flock of beltex cross which we breed and show and as a result of this I have gained experience of preparing sheep for show and sales. I have been involved in preparation of rams for Kelso ram sale where we have sold to a top of £800. I have also dressed sheep for shows and sales. The farm also stocks 40 sucklers which are pedigree Aberdeen angus again I have gained experience in bringing stock out ready for shows and sales I have been in the preparation of bulls for Stirling bull sales with a top of £5500. This has given me a great experience which I feel that I can now go and put my own stamp on both for cattle and sheep. One of my duties is to look the stock in the morning. I also draw the lambs for fat sales at ST Boswells where we regularly top the market per kg and per head. we have also won the prime lambs at the border union show In the past few years and Berwickshire county show the last 4 years we also won the multi-breed championship 3 time in a row and interbreed sheep 2018 when I left home I was under shepherd on a farm with 2000 blackface and mules. On this farm we in wintered 1200 mules I was in charge of feeding and day to day health and well-being of all the ewes. All of which lamb to the Suffolk which we sold1000 ewe lambs of farm. Working with larger numbers has helped me gain experience on how to make things easer and faster this has helped me gain experience in doing this in a different way to what I knew. the farm that I work on also has 50 spring calving cows which calve to a Charolais bulls with all offspring being sold straight off there mothers.

I am currently shepherd over 1100 ewes in the borders where I am in sole charge of all of aspects of the sheep enterprise selling ewe lambs off farm and the rest off the lambs being sold fat trough border livestock. I am in charge of all buying and selling of sheep and all feeding and animal husbandry of all the ewes. I also have a small flock of pure Texel ewes that i aim to sell to quality tups and take part in local shows. I have 4 working dogs which I take part in local trials with and have a very keen interest in.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

22

Marital status

no dependants

Nationality

Scottish

Where are you currently living?

Scottish Borders

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

armchair football fan and I enjoy shows and sales

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

61kg 5,10

Relevant health problems

no

Farming background

I studied and Borders college for two years. I have also done lambing away from home and worked for a local contractor with silage and harvest work. I gained experience I have had is of the farm with my father. I have also gained a lot of experience from listing to others with more experience than me. I have also had a weeks work experience when I was still at school. I worked as shepherd for a large scale farming operation with 10000 ewes spilt over 10 units in the Scottish Borders. Iam currently shepherd over 1100 ewes in the borders

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/06/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

Scotland

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Scotland

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×