CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 35790

Shepherd/Stockman looking for work in Scotland . I am married with a family. I have over 33 years experience, I am experienced in all aspects of good animal husbandry, including sheep shearing and the preparation of sheep and cattle for shows and sales.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

Not listed

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

Quad bike cert, manitou cert, chainsaw cert, first aid cert.

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Baler, Ploughing, Tracked Machine, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

Sheep shearing equipment, grinder shearers etc. post chapper for fencing. Manatu/telehander experience,all tractor work experience including silage bailing etc.I have a full Driving licence including trailer licence. I also have over 33 years experience with Quad Bikes and I have a certificate for both Manatu and quad bikes.

Other livestock experience

I am experienced in good animal husbandry with both sheep and cattle. Which includes lambing calving dozing , marking lambs foot trimming dehorning and sheep shearing and the preparation of sheep and cattle for shows and sales etc. Also gathering i have good working dogs.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

I can provide more references, including a written reference if required.

Age

50

Marital status

I am married with a family.

Nationality

Scottish

Where are you currently living?

Northumberland

First language

Scottish

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I love spending time with my family, and enjoy going to Sheep shearing competitions we usual go as a family to Lochearnhead scottish Blackface sheep shearing competition even though I dont compete anymore, Its a great atmosphere,and Its a great way to catch up with friends I have sheared with in the past.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

6ft 14stone

Relevant health problems

NONE

Farming background

I was brought up on a farm then done my first lambing at 16 years old then worked on farms ever since, securing my first full-time job at 16 on a farm in Douglas herding 1200 blackface ewes where i was for over 10 years. More recently I worked on a farm in Moffat for herding 1000 blackface ewes,but due to our growing family his two bedroom cottage was to small. I also worked on a farm in Sanquhar for herding 800 blackface ewes and assisting with 100 cattle. For about 7 years.but unfortunately he lost his tenancy of his farm. After that I worked on a self employed basis in and around Sanquhar, doing all shepherding including gathering. and cattle work, tractor work, fencing Dyking even general maintenance jobs etc.But I found everyone wanted me at busy times and I hated letting people down. I am competent working on my own or as part of a team. I am currently shepherding in North Northumberland.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 17/09/2021 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

Scotland

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Central & Southern Scotland would consider anywhere South of Perth

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×