CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 35445

Have a passion for working with dairy cows. I am keen and enthusiastic and looking to progress my career towards large herd management. Work Dorset/Somerset.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

BTEC

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

level 2 diploma in agriculture - dairy production Currently doing the dairy management academy with promar international and genus

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Sheep, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

I have had some tractor and loader experience but very keen to learn. Loader experience such as bedding cubicles and mucking out and tractor work includes scraping and silage and bale carting

Other livestock experience

I have a experience milking on a variety of parlours from herringbone, swing overs and rotary parlours. I like to milk to high standards and take care with cows and make sure no detail is under seen. I can spot Mastitis and treat accordingly. I can spot sick animals and check them and diagnose the problems and treat the problem and know when veterinary advice is needed. I have a particular passion for herd health and fresh cow management. I can calve cows and also calve more difficult situations and know when I cant and vet help is needed. I have reared calves, taking responsibly of new born calves, ensuring colostrum management is carried out correctly and the health of the calves is to a high standard. I work very well in a team and can take on responsibility when needed to and use my initiative. I have experience working with herds ranging from 300-800 cows on a variety of different systems From high input high output 3x milkings pushing for yields to low input grazing systems. My passion is high input systems this is the direction I want my career to head in, in hope of being a herd manager in the future.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

I won most improved herdsman of the year 2015 at the national herdsman conference held at harper Adams university, Artificial insemination qualified

Age

25

Marital status

none

Nationality

british

Where are you currently living?

Dorset

First language

english

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

when i am not in work i like to socialise with friends and family and go to the gym

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

-

Relevant health problems

none

Farming background

Im not from a farming background. I got interested helping a friend with a small flock of sheep when I was young, helping with fencing, lambing, shearing. When I left school I went to agricultural college to study mixed agriculture and decided to go to a dairy farm for work experience, I helped with milking, calf feeding, moving cattle. I then decided dairy farming was what I want to do. I then went on to do an apprenticeship specialising in dairy production and this was a 2 year course, I carried on working on the farm I did while on the apprenticeship gradually taking on more responsibility and eventually becoming assistant herd manager

Preferences
Availability

Start: 30/11/2020 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South West

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

Dorset/Somerset

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×