CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 19371

Current Position Herdsman, looking for a Herdsman role. Nineteen years experience in the industry. Experience on a organic and conventional dairy farm. Trained in A.I and foot trimming. Work in the South West.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

Not listed

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

I have a telehandeler licence, Atv compitance certificate, trained in A.I and Foot trimming, trained first aider.

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Combine, Baler, Ploughing, Drilling, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Goat, Calving

Other equipment experience

Experience working in a 24/24 Delaval Herringbone, 22/22 Fullwood and a 10 crate westfalia auto tandem. Tractors upto 250hp (NH and JD). 16 ton rolland trailers, mounted cultivation equipment.vac tankers, dung spreaders. Limited experience on NH TX combine (20 foot)

Other livestock experience

Stockman - 16 yrs, Assistant Herdsman - 1yr 4mths mths with 250 h/f organic cows, Herdsman -3yr 8mths with 250 h/f organic cows, A.I and foot trimming (5 yrs experience), milking (9 yrs experience), calf rearing and calving.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

36

Marital status

I have a Wife and 4 daughters one 7 yr old, 4 yr old, 2 yr old and 1 yrs old. (1 x Dog).

Nationality

English

Where are you currently living?

Somerset

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I am a massive F1 fan and enjoy watching motor racing and I also enjoy shooting.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

-

Relevant health problems

None

Farming background

At the age of 5 years old we moved to a farm due to my Dad being a herdsman there. This is where my passion began. At the age of 12 years old I started helping on the farm after school and on weekends. Upon finishing school they offered me a full time position as a general farm worker. July 2001 - Feb 2007, General Farm Worker - on a Dairy Farm, Feb 2007 - May 2011, Relief Milker/tractor driver - on a Dairy Farm, July 2010 - Jan 2011, Drivers mate, Jan 2011 - June 2011, Forklift driver - (Builders Merchant), June 2011 - July 2011, Wrapping haylage bales for a local haylage producer, July 2011- Jan 2015, I worked with a 300 cow herd where I was relief milking 5 times a week through a 22/22 fullwood. I helped rear the calves and I fed all the dairy cows daily. On the days when I did not milk I did the yard work ensuring the cleanliness of the deep sand beds, being sure to remove all dung and leaked milk from the beds to minimise the risk of mastitis. I made up daily TMR for the herd. I was also involved in the seasonal tractor work as we produced our own winter forage. Jan 2015 - May 2016, I worked as Assistant Herdsman on a 250 cow herd of h/f cows. I relief milked on alternate weekends and holiday cover through our 10 stall auto tandem parlour. I shared the responsibility of heat detection, A.I, mastitis control and foot trimming with our herdsman. I also looked after the calves on a daily basis and took full herdsman responsibility when the herdsman was on leave. May 2016 - Present, I received an internal promotion to Herdsman. I share the responsibility of heat detection, A.I and fertility with the Unit Manager, we use ice robotics cow alert to assist us with this, we also work closely together to decide which cows should be culled. I manage the day to day care of cows in milk which includes seeing and treating any animals that are sick, drying off, mastitis detection and administering appropriate treatment within organic guidelines. I help cows that need assistance during calving and I am involved in the fortnightly vet health and fertility routine. I routinely inspect and trim loco score 2-3 cows and I ensure the parlour and dairy are hygienic and cleaned to the highest standards. Our 12-month rolling cell count is 76 and our average Bacta scan is an average of 6. When the Unit Manager is on weekends off and on leave, I take on his responsibilities of managing staff and the day to day running of the farm. I am responsible for the day to day recording in the NMR diary (feet, bulling, treatments, drying off, services and movements) which is then entered onto interherd. In August 2017 we had a new parlour installed and we are now milking in a 24/24 Delaval Herringbone with auto id and yield monitoring linked to a central computer.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 16/12/2020 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South West

Type of job

Permanent

Where would you like to work?

south west

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×