CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 108247

I have two years of practical experience in land management, nature conservation and farming. I am interested in jobs that combine these areas.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

City and Guilds, BSc

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

•Full UK driving licence.
•City & Guilds (NPTC): Maintenance, Crosscutting and Felling of Trees up to 380mm in diameter.
•Outdoor First Aid Training.
•LANTRA Tractor Driving
•LANTRA Brushcutters/Trimmers
•LANTRA All-Terrain Vehicle (sit-astride)

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence, Tractor Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Tracked Machine, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Beef, Pig, Sheep, Lambing

Other equipment experience

•Ground-nesting bird/wader habitat management (front-mounted cyclone mower & cut & collect) using SOUCY-tracked New Holland T6 tractor.

•Transport of SOUCY tractor between reserves and on/off ferries using another New Holland T6 tractor & flatbed trailer.

•Regular Brush cutter use - reed management, dock suppression, strimming.

•Daily ATV use on the fell. Towing trailers and Quad-X mower for dock suppression.

•Non-native tree felling using a chainsaw.

•Firewood Preparation, collection & transportation (with a chainsaw & hydraulic wood chopper).

•Daily off-road 4 x 4 use transporting guests up and down the fell to holiday accommodation.

•Telehandler use around farmyard.

•Regular use of Fencing Equipment (fence repairs, digging in strainers, fence creation).

•General servicing of vehicles, machinery and equipment.

Other livestock experience

6 months of part-time experience on a hill farm in Coniston, Cumbria. The farm specialised in conservation grazing, keeping traditional breeds of livestock including some rare breeds of cattle and sheep. I worked with small herds of White Bred Shorthorns and Luings, as well as Herdwicks, Cheviots, Manx Loaghtan, Soays, Shetlands, Swaledales, Mules and various other breeds. The farm also kept pigs, chickens, and llamas. I generally just helped out where I was needed, including daily feeding, mucking out, moving livestock between fields and up and down the road, shepherding, dipping, worming, and lambing. I started just as lambing began, it was a very intense but rewarding experience. I would have liked to have worked full-time but there was not enough work for me. I had other roles on the farm but I was often called upon as an extra pair of hands to assist with livestock tasks. I got very good at catching sheep!

Whilst working for the RSPB in my current job, I have been sent across to the RSPB farm on the island of Egilsay a number of times to assist on the farm. This includes TB checks, lambing and calving.

I am still very much a novice when it comes to livestock, but I am very comfortable around cattle and sheep and I am keen to get stuck in and improve my skills. I am interested in learning more about heritage breeds, conservation grazing and traditional and modern farming practices.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

25

Marital status

Girlfriend and working Lab (detection dog, female).

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Orkney Islands

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

Obstacle course racing, fell running, rock climbing.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

5ft 8, 73kg.

Relevant health problems

-

Farming background

Education

Dowdales Secondary School

(2010-2015)GCSE: Four A*'s, Five A's, One B

Barrow Sixth Form College

(2015-2017)A-Level: Geography A, History B, English Language B

University of Cumbria Graduated with a 2:1 in Outdoor Education and Environmental Science (BSc)

(2019-2022)

Employment

RSPB Orkney

Estate Worker, full-time

(October 2023 present)

I currently work for the RSPB in the Orkney islands. I operate across the West Mainland and various other islands with RSPB reserves. In the winter, the work focused on using a SOUCY-tracked New Holland tractor to do cutting in wetland, moorland and farmland locales in order to manage and create habitat for waders and other ground-nesting birds like Hen Harriers. I have been trained up to be able to drive, transport and maintain this tractor, as well as another New Holland Tractor, an ATV, a host of fleet vehicles and a workshop full of chainsaws, brush cutters and various machinery. In the spring and summer, the work has focused on reserve maintenance, as well as preparing for the cutting season which starts in August. The RSPB has a lot of reserves across the Orkney Islands, so much of my work has required the transport of folk, equipment and vehicles across these sites, some of which are on different islands, such as Hoy, Rousay, Egilsay, Wyre and Shapinsay.

•Wader habitat management using SOUCY-tracked New Holland tractor.

•Transport of SOUCY tractor between reserves using another New Holland tractor & flatbed trailer.

•Reserve maintenance with brush cutter.

•Assisting with wader scrape/pool creation.

•Assisting with lambing and calving at RSPB Onziebust (a working farm).

•Weekly livestock checks across mainland reserves.

•ATV & trailer use.

•Assisting with volunteer work parties.

•Servicing vehicles, machinery and equipment.

•Upkeep of the workshop.

•Fencing audits, fence creation & fence repairs.

•Boundary Inspections (over 50 miles walked across the reserves)

•GIS mapping using MagicMaps.

•Stoat trapping & trap deployment (with the Orkney Native Wildlife Project).

•Reserve infrastructure checks; maintaining & repairing reserve hides and paths.

Farm

Farm worker, part-time (3x a week)

(March 2023 September 2023)

I worked in Coniston, Cumbria. It is a small, family-run hill farm which specialises in conservation grazing, and they keep traditional breeds of livestock including some rare breeds of cattle and sheep. They run a successful soap and skincare business (produced at the farm using milk from their cows) and two blossoming wool business. They also offer off-grid holiday accommodation for guests. I helped out on all aspects of the farm where I was needed, across all of the businesses. I worked both alone and as part of a small team.

•Moving, feeding and care of livestock (cattle, sheep, pigs, llamas and chickens).

•Daily off-road 4 x 4 use transporting guests up and down the fell to holiday accommodation.

•ATV use on the fell (mainly for firewood transport and shepherding).

•Trailor use (both small ATV trailers & livestock trailers).

•Tractor & Telehandler use (mainly in & around the yard).

•Firewood Preparation, collection & transportation (with a chainsaw & hydraulic wood chopper).

•Strimming/general gardening & farm upkeep.

•Walling & fencing.

•General upkeep of holiday cottages (cleaning, painting, maintenance, water pump etc.)

Restoring Hardknott Forest

Project Assistant, full-time

(September 2022 March 2023)

This was a six-month practical apprenticeship with the University of Leeds based at Hardknott Forest in Cumbria, which is owned by Foresty England. The project is part of the Upper Duddon Valley Landscape Recovery Scheme and is centred around turning an old forestry plantation into native woodland.

•Non-native tree removal using a chainsaw/loppers/hand saw in various upland environments.

•Native sapling/seedling and wildflower planting in montane environments.

•Leading work party volunteer days doing non-native removal/native species planting.

•Fence inspections, construction & maintenance (stock fences & drystone walls).

•Wildlife trail camera monitoring (setting T-sniffers, logging footage etc.)

•Working alongside the BOOM South Cumbria Species Restoration project: mainly ecological surveys & small mammal monitoring for the Pine Marten reintroduction project.

•Ecological surveying using MagicMaps.

•Grey Squirrel extermination.

•Chainsaw & tool maintenance.

•General Outreach, Education & Community Engagement

•Roughly two weeks' worth of site visits & training/education days with Forestry England Foresters/Wildlife Rangers.

I was born and bred in South Cumbria and I am hoping to return to Cumbria after spending some time working up in the Orkney Islands. I grew up hiking, running and climbing in the Coniston and Duddon fells and this fostered in me a deep-rooted affinity for the area. This affinity grew as I got older and has led me to seek a career centred around looking after the British uplands, particularly in the context of land management, nature conservation and farming.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 12/08/2024 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

North West

Type of job

Any

Where would you like to work?

Cumbria, North Yorkshire, Co. Durham, Northumberland

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×