CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 107315

I live in the Cotswolds and am looking for seasonal work on farms as i am working as a college lecturer in agricultural engineering. I have used a variety of farm equipment and also grown up around cattle.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications

BTEC, NVQ Level 1,2,3

Type of farming wanted

Mainly Arable, Mixed Farming

Other qualifications

I have a variety of qualifications from the quarrying industry ranging from licences to operate large construction plant equipment, managing health and safety up to running open inert landfill sites. i also have a level 3 teaching qualification from when i used to travel around as a mobile plant and tractor trainer.

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Tracked Machine, Telehandler/Fork Lift, 360 Ticket

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef

Other equipment experience

I have spent the last 20 years operating excavators ranging from 1.5tons up to 80tons weight ding tasks such as small cable trenching up to large earth moving operations and mainly excavating sand and gravel into 30ton dump trucks. I have also used a variety of different tracked machines in my career. I have been using telehandler's over the same time in quarrying and also outside of this industry, i have used sizes ranging from 4m reach up to 14m reach with attachments including bale spikes, buckets, grabs, man baskets, oil barrel clamps etc. Tractors i have used range from old ford 4000's up to recent john deere 6R 145's, mainly it was through the use of teaching people how to operate them and also the different attachments that they needed to use, attachments have been grain trailers up to 16ton, toppers, mowers, bale trailers. i have also done rolling, harrowing, front loader work, muck spreading, i did a bit of ploughing while at college and while teaching people which i would like to do more of and i am always willing to try new things and improve on the skills that i have. I have also used combines and foragers, i have taught people how to use them and also assessed people while using them also through having to know how they operate after doing maintenance on them, i am always willing to operate combines as they are more complex to operate and that you have more concentration on what is going on to do a good job. Lately i have be going through combines with students at the college on how they work, simple repairs and a basic use of driving them. Foragers have been used through teaching people and assessing people while using them and how to operate them after doing maintenance on them.

Other livestock experience

I have grown up around cattle as my grandad had a herd of pedigree Aberdeen Angus cows which i used to move around the farm when moving to different fields, have been used to bringing cows in ready for tagging and also for testing, i used to bed them down using a fork to spread the straw out for them with them in the shed at the same time as well as putting the straw in the shed with tractors with front loaders. I was used to going in with cows and also the farm bull when they were inside and also being around all of them while out in the fields. My friends had dairy farms where i used to go when younger, this was doing similar things as at my grandads farm and where i had a look at milking for the first time. My aunty worked on dairy farms with my uncle and then had their own dairy farm where i used to help with the mucking out, bedding down, telehandler work with buckets, grabs and bale spikes, tractor work with trailers.

Personal information
Sex

Male

Other Information

-

Age

43

Marital status

I have a partner and two children aged 10 and 13 years old.

Nationality

United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?

Gloucestershire

First language

English

Do you have the right to work in the UK?

Yes

Other languages

-

Hobbies

I do work for my cousin on the farm, take my son to young farmers meetings and competitions, walk my two dogs which are a english springer spanial and a cocker spaniel, i enjoy fishing and used to enjoy clay shooting.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

I am about 5ft 10 inches tall, 14.5 stone in weight, non smoker and also non drinker, i am 43 years in age.

Relevant health problems

I have now health problems at present that i know of.

Farming background

I have grown up with farming since i was a child as alot of my family were in farming in one way or another, from my grandad having aberdeen angus cattle as a hobby to my aunty and friends having dairy and arable farms. I went to Lackham College after i finished my GCSE'S to study agricultural engineering, this was a three year course with the second year being work placement which i spent working for the local Claas dealership. When i was there i worked on all ages of combines from a Claas Europa to the more modern Lexion that had come out, i also worked on various foragers, tractors from renault and the first Xerions in the uk at the time to round and square balers and telehandlers. I also had work experience before college working on a local arable farm rolling etc with a John Deere 3350, i used to operate my friends John Deere 2850 with front loader when it was borrowed for loading away material from small construction jobs using a 12ton twin axle trailer, i also used to work on my grandparents tractors if there was minor problems that i could fix and also help with anything that they needed help with. I ended up working in a local quarry where i learned to operate large fixed quarry washing plants, mobile screening and crushing equipment, loading shovels up to 30tons which could carry around 12tons in the front bucket where i was digging material out of the ground for processing and loading lorries and crushers with material, i also operated excavators from 1.5tons up to 80tons in weight. These were for clearing around the plant and small jobs to digging material out for the loading shovel and for mass earthmoving jobs loading dumpers to move topsoil bunds, i also operated a 36ton 22 meter long reach excavator for digging gravel out of a wet dig quarry for draining before screening, dumpers, bulldozers, telehandlers for moving parts around the site and also placing them at height within a very small margin of error to fit them in place, i also used to use various tractors and water bowsers for keeping the dust down in summer months. I used to teach people how to operate various types and sizes of machinery and also various types and sizes of tractors, combines and agricultural machinery, i also used to teach and use various telehandlers. I have always continued to help at my grandparents farm which is now run by my cousin where i still help out when needed, this is with the machinery and with the animals, i had my first time doing a short part in lambing this spring. I have just got back into agriculture as i missed it as it has always been a passion on mine by starting work at Hartpury College as a lecturer in agricultural engineering, i teach 16 to 19 year olds about agricultural engineering in subjects such as engines, hydraulics, workshop practices and the older students in cutting, lifting and processing which we used a Lexion 410 from the 1990's for and which has now been replaced by a 2005 Lexion 560 terra-trac combine which students will be looking at different parts of and doing minor maintenence on. The students will also be able to get to look learn about forage harvesters as the college have just got a Jaguar 870 for the farm and students to operate. I am looking for seasonal work to increase my skills and knowledge in farm machinery operation and also as i would like to get back into operating agricultural equipment more, i am also looking to work most holidays and available weekend etc as needed by prospective employers.

Preferences
Availability

Start: 01/07/2024 Finish: 24/08/2024

Preferred region

South West

Type of job

Seasonal

Where would you like to work?

I would like to work close to cirencester as it means that i can still spend time with my family during the summer in the evenings, i am looking to travel up to an hour from home to work.

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.

×