CV Ref No. CV Reference No. - 100053

Capable young 2IC looking for dairy work in Somerset/Devon

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualifications


Type of farming wanted

Mainly Livestock

Other qualifications

Lantra Awards - Telescopic Handler
Vet Course - Curative and Preventative Foot trimming
Vet Course - Artificial Insemination

Driving Licence

Full Car Licence

Equipment experience

Tractor, Telehandler/Fork Lift, Fencing

Livestock experience

Dairy, Beef, Lambing, Calving

Other equipment experience

Trailed Bale Chopper

Feed Wagon (Central Auger/Chop)

Trailer work (Silage,Bales,Dung)

Bobman Bedding Machine

AG Spreader (Front End Loader)

Paddock Topping

Other livestock experience

I have worked full time in Dairy since leaving college in 2011. Up until recently i was on a relief team travelling nation wide offering dairy based relief/support and have also spent time in New Zealand on 2 different Dairy units

Personal information


Other Information




Marital status

I have a partner who would be living with me at any suitable positions, also have a 6 month old cocker spaniel


United Kingdom

Where are you currently living?


First language


Do you have the right to work in the UK?


Other languages



Im a country boy to the core and love being outside. I shoot every Saturday during the winter months and in the Summer love to explore new places during my free time.

Pen picture (Height, weight etc.)

6 ft 0 in 85 kg

Relevant health problems

Suffered an injury to my right foot at the age of 16. The injury required surgery but is fully healed and causes me no issues in my adult life

Farming background

Im a pretty easy going bloke, what you see is what you get. I started out in dairying on a small family unit just outside Bathealton at the grand old age of 12 and through my 6 years with the family went from feeding a few calves to milking the herd on the weekend and lending a hand with anything and everything that happens in the day to day life of dairying. In 2009 i took my self off to Duchy College in Cornwall to get my bit of paper that we're all supposed to have and after leaving in 2011 went straight into work. I moved around abit over the following years as i wanted to see as much variety as possible in order to gain as much practical experience as i could until in 2017 i just had to scratch that 'New Zealand itch' and so went down under on a 2 year WHV, on my return in 2019 i joined a relief team for its variety and flexibility. My partner has recently moved in and so now im seeking a position more local to our home in Wiveliscombe that will still provide decent hours and an opportunity to show my skills and abilities doing the job i love in the industry i love.

January 2019 - Present

Day to day management of the herd with a central focus on the milking routine

Preventative and curative foot trimming as required

Artificial Insemination of cycling animals as required

Attendance of regular fertility clinics

Monitoring and management of transition cows from 2 weeks prior to calving

Occasional feeding and care of calves from birth to weaning age

Night checks and calving assistance as required

Scraping up of yards and cubicle houses

Bedding up of yards and cubicle houses

Occasional mixer wagon feeding of youngstock and dairy cattle

Occasional telescopic handler feeding of youngstock and dairy cattle

Occasional management of grazing for youngstock and dairy cattle

Occasional fencing and farm maintenance jobs (repairs of parlour,cubicle houses etc)

January 2017 - January 2019

Management of the 200 fresh heifers/R2's/R3's

Co management of the 400 remaining dairy cattle

Milking of the entire herd to include both groups of dairy cattle

Paddock management and maintenance to include break fencing of allotted feed amounts each day and any required repairs

Weekly grass walks to assess forage growth and availability

Overall improvement of infrastructure to improve business profitability (ground works for new buildings, trenching for water lines/power lines, upgrading of fencing)

September 2014 - September 2016

Assist with the day to day management of the 700 milking cows

To milk the main herd at theDairy (Mon-Fri) and provide relief cover for the herd manager at anotherDairy fortnightly

Management and care of dry cows

Management and care of transition cows

Occasional feeding of calves and youngstock

Scraping up/bedding up of yards and cubicles

repairs and maintenance of farm/farm buildings(replace roof panels, repair cubicles, concreting)


Start: 22/05/2024 Finish: Not Specified

Preferred region

South West

Type of job


Where would you like to work?

Ideally i would like to be with in a hour of my home in Wiveliscombe, Somerset but am willing to concider furthur afield for the right position

This site uses some unobtrusive cookies to store information on your computer. By using our site you accept our Terms And Conditions and Privacy Policy.