CV reference number: 45377
CV Headline

Herdsman Looking for work in the South or South West of England.  At present I am responsible for 300 cows. I milk through a 20/40 Westfalia parlour but have also milked in a 24/48 Dairy master, 16/32 De Laval amongst others. My skills include the following:- AI, Foot trimming, Herd Health, Record Keeping. Spring and Autumn calving. Grassland management,  Improving the Bactoscan and cell count. I have both excellent stockman and communication skills and lead by example.

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsCity and Guilds
Other qualificationsAgriculture Phase 1 and 2
Equipment experienceFencing, Telehandler/fork lift, Tractor
Other equipment experienceFence moving on a regular daily basis, setting up new ones and removing old ones. Machines - Scraper tracker. John Deers, New Holland. Manitou, JCB,
Livestock experienceCalving, Beef, Dairy
Other livestock experienceHerdsman with over 20yrs experience within the Dairy industry milking at present 320 cows. Have been able to improve herd average and also both bactoscan and cell count. Excellent AI, Foot trimming skills and also excellent Record Keeping. Dry cow therapy. Calving and looking after young stock. Straw bedding up, External feeding, Bull Selection.
Type of farming wantedMainly Livestock
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence
Personal information
SexMale
Age48
NationalityBritish
First languageEnglish
Other languages
Pen picture5'10, weight 13stone
Relevant health problemsNo health problems
Other InformationI have been in Dairy farming from a young age and still enjoy it now.I have 3 children who have now left home and 3 grandchildren. My partner has also looked after and reared calves on both conventional and Organic farm where she was responsible for rearing calves in an Autumn, Spring calving groups.
Marital statusYes I have a partner who also enjoys working with cows. She reared calves from birth to weaning age and also bull calves. Roughly 160 on a daily basis. Also does relief milking. I have 3 children and 3 grandchildren
Where are you currently living?Dorset
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming backgroundOver 20yrs within the Dairy industry. Have worked on a farm since a young age as family always worked with cows, left school went to collage and never looked back. I have experience on low, medium and high yielding herds. I have worked on both Organic and Conventional dairies.
HobbiesFishing and Golf when I get the opportunity
Preferences
AvailabilityStart: 07/07/2017, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobPermanent
Preferred regionAnywhere
Where would you like to work?Wiltshire / Dorset / Hampshire/Sussex
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4Xtrahands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.