CV reference number: 33174
CV Headline

I am a 22 year old farm worker currently living and working in Stamford, England, with good knowledge and experience in agricultural sectors such as dairy, sheep, arable, beef and poultry. Have predominantly a dairy background but have taken interests in other sectors In recent years since moving away from home. I have my own sheepdog that I'm training up. I'm a competent tractor driver and telehandler operator and like my work to be of a high standard. Can operate a brush, shovel, grease gun and a few spanners to maintain and fix things around the farm. I enjoy walking through livestock and checking for any problems as it allows me to learn more about each animal. I'm happy to be taught to use any new machinery and improve my skills on machines I've already used. 

Qualifications and Experience
Relevant qualificationsCity and Guilds, Btec
Other qualifications

3 A levels 1 year at agricultural college and 1 year at agricultural university.

Equipment experiencePloughing, Fencing, Other harvesters, Telehandler/fork lift, Tracked machine, PA2, PA1, Baler, Tractor
Other equipment experience

I have used various tractors up to 300hp including Massey Ferguson, John Deere, Claas, JCB, Case and New Holland, for numerous tasks such as silage carting, livestock transport with 28ft and 32ft trailers. Slurry spreading with tankers and umbilical spreaders. Scrapped out cattle yards and mucked out straw pens. Bale carted with bale trailers and 42ft lorry trailers on a dolly. Operated up to 16 tonne diggers on family farms and for personal use (will be looking to get 360 certificate). I have my Telehandler certificate and have used pivot steer and rigid body telehanders of various sizes. Have a small amount of experience with balers, chasers, forage harvesters and combines. I have used a Case Quadtrac to sumo and do a small amount of cultivation work. A case puma was used for other cultivation including rolling, sub-soiling, a small amount of ploughing and drilling but would want more training to be confident to work on. I have my spraying qualifications but have not used one since then so would want some refresher training before needing to do it. Used various make of post knockers for fencing jobs. Very good with a shovel and brush. Used a welder when needed.

Livestock experiencePoultry, Calving, Lambing, Sheep, Goat, Pig, Beef, Dairy
Other livestock experience

8 years of working with dairy from milking cows in various milking units such as 6/6 up to 36/72 herringbone parlours, 40 internal and 60 point external milking parlours and robotic milking units. Worked with young stock feeding calves to detecting heat in heifers ready for serving. Hoof trimmed cows that require attention. Have worked sheep carrying out various tasks such as lambing, weaning, selecting tups, vaccinating and drenching, feet care and have done a small amount of shearing. I have worked with bull beef cattle from my uncles dairy farm and my neighbors commercial beef cattle doing checks and weekly weighing of batches to get check their growth rates and whether or not they are ready for market or at slaughter weight. He also kept pigs and goats as a hobby where I assisted him if he needed help doing health checks or transporting them. Have kept poultry and worked on poultry farms in day to day running and marketing of produce. Some experience working with horses, general feeding and stable care, poo picking and a small amount of riding.

Type of farming wantedMainly Arable
Driving LicenseFull Car Licence, tractor
Personal information
Profile Picture
SexMale
Age22
Nationalitybritish
First languageenglish
Other languages
Pen picture

height is 6 ft 4". big well built guy who is a hard worker, willing to get stuck into any job and do it to the best of my ability, more than willing to take advice and any instruction on board.

Relevant health problems

no health problems.

Other Information

n/a

Marital status

no

Where are you currently living?Northern Ireland
Do you have the right to work in the UK?Yes
Farming background

I grow up working on some of my uncles family large dairy farms, arable and a beef, sheep and poultry farm for most of my teen years. When I was 17, I sought out doing a work placement at Moy Park, an internationally recognized poultry producing company. This was done to gain more knowledge and experience in the poultry sector as I had kept chickens as a small home run enterprise supplying eggs to neighbors and members of staff in my school. I spent just over two weeks there learning the the hatchery process to going out to farms and learning about health inspections and offering farmers advice on how to improve their poultry enterprises. I enjoyed this and feel I learnt a lot by doing this as other than keeping poultry small scale I was able to learn how to farm poultry on an industrial scale whilst maintaining a high standard of animal health. I then left Northern Ireland to go to an agricultural university in Shropshire to learn more about agriculture. I then started working on the university's mixed farm where their main enterprise was dairy during and after my time studying at university where I milked cows, looked after young stock, assisted in veterinary inspections and operations, aided calving cows that had trouble giving birth or needing extra help recovering after. Transported animals to different farm areas with a tractor and large stock trailer. done vaccinations and bolusing cattle. Sorted and assisted lambing sheep during the busy periods. For a summer I worked for my local contractor at home where I was carting silage, drawing slurry and spreading muck. I then went on to work for a New Zealand Style dairy farm in Staffordshire as an assistant herdsman doing the same routine, milking Feeding cattle with a TMR diet feeder, hoof trimming as routine maintenance and if lame cows required it. I then went back to study at an agricultural college in Yorkshire where I worked as part of a team on the college farm Feeding the stock in the morning before class and working weekends and days I wasn't studying. I've worked sheep and help the shepherd lamb both in a team and on my own. During my time at the college I was able to work for a family farm in the holidays who milked 110 cows and had over 1000 head of sheep. My job was to feed cows in the morning then do checks around the lambing sheds and move sheep and new lambs out to fields. This summer I have been working the harvest at a Velcourt arable farm in Stamford. It is here that I have gained the experience of harvesting arable crops and cultivation work for next years crop. I have performed tasks such as grain drying, ploughing, sumo-ing, sub-soiling and the storage of crops. IT helped my teamwork skills as we had to be running like a well oiled machine to work together communicating on how we'd go about various tasks and to keep the combines on the ready crops when the weather was right. Machinery maintenance was essential and gave me the chance to improve my engineering skills when replacing parts, fixing broken machines and learning how to run a grain dryer.

Hobbies

I've played as part of a rugby team since the age of 6 for club and school teams. Enjoy working and training my dogs, a working Border Collie pup and a working Labrador pup (plus my little sisters 3 year old Labrador I work when I'm at home) and generally keeping fit. I enjoy building and mechanicing and have built many animal enclosures, tractor weights and rebuilt vehicles. I enjoy photography of different landscapes and scenes.

Preferences
AvailabilityStart: 08/10/2017, Finish: Not Specified
Type of jobAny
Preferred regionAnywhere
Where would you like to work?Preferably near the welsh border but anywhere is good.
Back to CV list Add To Basket

4Xtrahands provides professional agricultural recruitment services for farmers and jobseekers including the location of skilled, permanent, temporary and seasonal rural staff for farmers as well as finding suitable work for jobseekers with one of our many registered farmers throughout the UK. Designed by a farmer for farmers our recruitment website is a simple, quick and affordable solution for all your agricultural recruitment needs.